The Obligatory New Year’s Resolutions Post

Oh and So I Started a New Blog

I know you’ll be reading a gazillion New Year’s resolution posts, but I really couldn’t think of a better way to start a new blog.  I’ve been just dying to write again, and now I finally have both the Net and the free Acer laptop I won from Deb on the Rocks (because she really, truly, does rock!) so I actually can write again.

I haven’t set up the blog, really.  I haven’t done the about page or added any widgets or any other shit.  I’m tired and it’s 11:17 at the moment and I just fucking want to write. So, I’m writing.  If you know me from before, you already know most of the nasty details of my life anyway.  Long story short?  I’m a recently separated, almost divorced, single mother of three kids, the oldest of which is seven.  I’m going to try not to mention their names here, because I checked and you can find my old blog simply by Googling our names together.  I need to be more anonymous.  My family has found the old blog, including N o a h’s dad and stepmom.  Obviously, Thomas (my ex) knows the name of the old one.  So a new year and a new blog.  A whole new life in fact.  I really like the sound of that.

On to the resolutions!  The last few years I haven’t bothered to do any because I just fuck them up anyway, but this time?  I’m ready for some changes.  The word “resolution” is a good word.  It means a problem being resolved.  In fact the word itself has the word “solution” in it.  A solution to a problem.  I’m sure you already knew all that, but it only just occurred to me.  Anyway, here they are…

1. Handle my finances better.  I looked at a bank statement the other day.  It’s not something I usually do, to tell the truth.  When I noticed the total amount deposited to my account I was surprised to say the least.  Then I checked the debits, and sure enough, there was an obscene amount of superfluous spending going on.  Considering what I’m making at work, and all the child support, I should NOT be broke.  Hell, the amount I’m spending on lunches alone was staggering.  So I resolve to balance my checkbook, give myself an allowance, and budget my money.  Now that I’m a single parent, I need to figure out how I’m going to manage putting three kids through college and save for retirement. 

2. Get a new job. Or get a promotion.  I haven’t really decided.  All I know is I do not like being an assistant manager.  I’ve been in management since I was 19!  I love/hate my job now.  Even if a position opens for me to be promoted, I’m not entirely sure I want to be with this company.  Basically, I don’t trust them.

3. Get the weight off.  I’m fat.  I hate it.  It’s time to start working out and dieting again.  All the fast food for lunch is making it hard on my body and my wallet!  Even the salads are loaded down with so much goodness they’re as fattening as a burger!  Lean Cuisine is good though, so I resolve to exercise and have a healthy lunch every day.  At least every day during the week.

4. Get organized. This is the big one for me.  I need my home life to be in order and it just isn’t.  When it’s not, everything else suffers.  I don’t work out because I don’t want to pick up toys just to make room.  I’m late for work because I can’t find the kids’ clothes or my brush or whatever.  It all starts here, so I resolve to get organized.

And now, dear heart, I’m worn out.  My eyes are closing as I type.  It sure is great to be back, though!

Published in: on December 31, 2009 at 4:46 am  Comments (15)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://smorkopolis.wordpress.com/2009/12/31/the-obligatory-new-years-resolutions-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love the name. 🙂

    I recommend pulling all first names entirely if you really want to stay anonymous. Make up names if you must.

    And I need to write up a final post for 2009.

    • Thanks. A pretty awesome dude came up with the main part of it. 😉

      I should pull the names, I just don’t know if I’m intelligent enough to pull it off. Maybe I could call them Big Heathen, Little Heifer, and Toddler Heathen.

      Write a final post if you want, but I sort of thought the one the other day (Can I Haz 2010 I think?) just about summed it up for you.

  2. YAY CONGRATS!! Remember to take each thing you want to accomplish 1 step at a time, and 1 task at a time. Overwhelming yourself all at once is just a set up for failure. I know you can do it!!

    GOOD LUCK!!

    • Thanks!! I’m sure going to try. 🙂

      • why not do like i do about check book . i use ATM. let the bank keep up with you bal. i do have to write 4 checks per month , sometime 5 . pay up w/ cash . no questions ask , no id . no grilling . you its just shuck out the green backs .

  3. Ohhh, shiny new blog! I like the nicknames you came up with for the kids. 🙂

    • I’m trying to think of something else to call them but so far that’s the best I’ve got. lol

    • new name has to be Greek cos it has polis

  4. Nothing like a clean slate and a fresh start – so here’s wishing you the best 2010 it can be.

    I know you will accomplish all you set out to do. 🙂

    Loves ya much. xo

    • Thanks babe and right back atcha. Loves ya too.

  5. Welcome back! I love writing to help me get the emotional shit out. Also, I second the fake names to stay anonymous.

    • Thanks! It was hard not having internet and not being able to blog! I want to fake up the names, but it’s hard for me because I’m a really open person.

      • Me too when I kept a secret blog. Which I may do again soon.

  6. I finally found your new blog. Your recent twitter name change helped. lol

    All great new year’s goals.

    • You know, you could have just asked me. lol. Glad you’re here, though! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

